Eddy Kenzo & John Blaq Top The 2020 HiPipo Music Awards, See Full List Of Winners Here

By Wycliff G; Ugandan singers Eddy Kenzo & John Blaq had a blissful moment during the recently concluded 2020 HiPipo Music Awards on Friday 29th May.

Unlike other events, the 9th edition awards’ grand finale was held in a virtual mode after the global outbreak of COVID-19 Pandemic.

The live streamed event also exhibited remarkable performances from; Sheebah Karungi, Roden Y Kabako, Kenneth Mugabi, Triplets Ghetto Kids, among others.

Eddy Kenzo & John Blaq scooped three and four accolades respectively better than any other artists in the 2020 HiPipo Music Awards.


Here is full list of winners:

Africa’s Number 1 – Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Africa Song of The Year Bigtril – Parte After Parte (Uganda)

Best Song from Francophone Africa Innoss’B – Yope (DRC)

Best Song from Western Africa Joeboy – Baby (Nigeria)

Best Song from Southern Africa King Monada- Chuwana (South Africa)

Best Song from Northern/Arabic Africa Mohamed Ramadan – Mafia

Africa Fans Favorite Fresh Talent – Mbosso (Tanzania)

East Africa:

Kenya Best Act Otile Brown X Khaligraph Jones – Japo Kidogo

Tanzania Best Act Diamond Platnumz – The One

Rwanda Best Act Deejay Pius – Homba Homboka (High Heels)

Burundi Best Act Natacha -Ufise Gute

East Africa Super Hit Diamond Platnumz – The One (Tanzania)


Artist of The Year – Eddy Kenzo

Best Female Artist – Sheebah

Best Male Artist – Eddy Kenzo

Best Breakthrough Artist – John Blaq

Best A-Cappella Group – Jehovah Shalom

Must Watch Talent – Lydia Bless

Best DJ – DJ Slick Stuart & Dj Roja

Video of The Year Kabako – Sabisubira

Song of The Year (Uganda) John Blaq – Do Dat

Best Audio Producer – Ronnie on Dis One

Best Video Director – Nolton And George (NG Filmz)

Best Song Writer – Daddy Andre

Best Hip-Hop/Rap Song Bigtril – Parte After Parte

Best Soul Song Kenneth Mugabi – Oliwa

Best Ragga/Dancehall Song Sheebah x Orezi – Sweet Sensation

Best Reggae Song Fille & Voltage Music – Squeeze

Best Band Song Chris Evans – Call Me

Best Contemporary Folk Song Da Agent & Betinah Fasie – Bamungamba

Best Kadongo Kamu Song Kasule Cereste – Stress Free

Best Zouk Song B2C & Rema – Gutujja

Best Afrobeat Song John Blaq – Do Dat

Best Afropop Song John Blaq – Ebyalagirwa

Best Social Message David Lutalo – Ensi

Best School Act Amasomero G’abazira Ba Cbs – Happy Birthday Ssaabasajja.

Best Religious/Gospel Act Levixone Ft. Timeless Noel – Chikibombe

Written Record Of The Year Spice Diana & Ray G writer for Omusheshe

Best Collabo B2C & Rema – Gutujja

Best Choreography – Ghetto Kids Triplets

Best Song from Eastern Region Irene Kayemba – Kankinemu

Best Song from Northern Region Professor Maros – Med Mac

Best Song from Southern Region – Mayor Chris Johnz (Nkooye Obwomu)

Best Song from Western Region – Ray G (Weeshe)

Best Cinematography/Editing – Martin Beta for Ogwo (Eddy Kenzo ft Wembly Mo Foundation)

Most Stylish Artist – Fik Fameika

Best Rnb Song Slick Stuart, DJ Roja – Sunday ft. Allan Toniks

Video Trail Blazer – Masaka Kids Afrikana

Exceptional Young – Act Fresh Kid

Life Time Achievement Award – Moses Matovu of Afrigo Band

Producer of the Generation Dr. Tee – Kazibwe Travis

Golden Medal of Honour for Supporting Preservation Ugandan Sound and Identity – Gen. Salim Saleh

We congratulate all winners!